Theme Layout

Boxed or Wide or Framed

Theme Translation

Display Featured Slider

Featured Slider Styles


Display Trending Posts

Display Instagram Footer


Dark or Light Style

Sports:Shahid Afridi, the 'ugly' duck-ling of ICC World Twenty20

Afridi was in stunning form in the recent Asia Cup. The slam-bang batsman smashed back-to-back sixes to steal India's thunder in the Asia Cup in Mirpur on March 2. Pakistan are banking on Afridi to come to the party once again

But Afridi can be massively unpredictable. Interestingly, Afridi holds the record for most ducks in the World Twenty20 competition. He has been dismissed without scoring on five occasions. Luke Wright of England, Sanath Jayasuriya of Sri Lanka and Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka are the other three batsmen who have collected three ducks in the tournament. It is interesting to note that Afridi's five ducks in the tournament are first-ball dismissals. 
As many as 59 occasions of a batsman collecting the first-ball ducks are witnessed in the ICC world T20 event. The tournament has witnessed seven occasions of a batsman dismissed run out first ball and five occasion of batsmen dismissed without facing a delivery.
Here are some amazing statistics:

# The tournament has witnessed 59 occasions of batsmen dismissed stumped in the tournament of which two batsmen were dismissed stumped after scoring a half century. There are eight occasion of batsmen dismissed stumped without scoring.

# It is interesting to note that only one batsman was dismissed stumped off a wide ball in the tournament. Kieron Pollard for a duck -- dismissed stumped of the bowling of Graeme Swann -- West Indies vs England at Providence on May 3, 2010.

# Eight batsmen have been dismissed run out after scoring a fifty in the tournament, while 12 batsmen have been dismissed run out without scoring.

# Daniel Vettori and Afridi are the two captains to be dismissed run out without scoring in the tournament. Chris Gayle remains the only captain to be dismissed run out after scoring a fifty. He was run out for 98 in the game between West Indies and India at Bridgetown on May 9, 2010.

# There are 15 occasions of a captain scoring fifties in the tournament and also nine occasions of a wicket-keeper-batsman scoring a 90 in the tournament. Brendon McCullum of New Zealand is the only wicket-keeper-batsman to score a hundred in the tournament. He scored 123 in the game between New Zealand and Bangladesh at Pallekele on September 21, 2012.

# Kamran Akmal of Pakistan and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka are the two wicket-keepers to score fifties on three occasions. The following table lists out their performances.

# The tournament has witnessed 11 occasions of a captain dismissed without scoring and 10 occasions of a wicket-keeper batsman dismissed for a duck.

# There are 15 occasions of a captain scoring fifties. Gayle and Sangakkara share the record for most fifties by a captain in the tournament. Both have scored three fifties.

# The tournament has witnessed 29 occasions of a bowler capturing four or more wickets which includes three bowlers taking five or more wickets. They are Sri Lankan spinner Ajantha Mendis 6 wickets for 8 vs Zimbabwe on September 18, 2012; Pakistani pacer Umar Gul 5 for six runs versus New Zealand on June 13, 2009 and Lankan quickie Lasith Malinga 5 for 31 vs England on October 1, 2012.

# The tournament's best bowling figures is credited to Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka who took six wickets conceding eight runs against Zimbabwe at Hambantota on 18.09.12.

# Jayasuriya of Sri Lanka, LN Onyango and Stuart Broad of England are the three bowlers to concede 60-plus runs in four overs in a match. It is interesting to note that these three bowlers have conceded 60-plus runs without capturing a wicket. Jayasuriya, with his figures of 4.0-0-64-0 against Pakistan at Johannesburg on September 17, 2007, gets the tag of most expensive bowler in terms of runs conceded. The tournament has witnessed 10 occasions of a bowler conceding 50 plus runs without capturing a wicket.

# A 166-run partnership between Sri Lankan twin towers Mahela Jayawardene and Sangakkara against the West Indies at Bridgetown on May 7, 2010 is the highest partnership registered in the tournament. This stand is also the only stand of 150-plus runs registered in the tournament.

You Might Also Like

No comments

Post a Comment

Follow @MyInstantSearch